Faculty of Music

Maritsa Brookes Concerto Awards

About the Competition

Awarded to any undergraduate or graduate student in the Don Wright Faculty of Music on the basis of performance excellence demonstrated in solo concerto competition, this annual competition has been a highlight for many students over the years. This award was made possible through the generous donation by Maritsa Ateena Brookes (BA '57) to Foundation Western. The winners receive the honour of performing their selection in a public concert with the Western University Symphony Orchestra in the following school year. In addition, a generous monetary award is shared amongst the winner and the two runners-up, received in the fall following the competition.

Please note that candidates must be full-time students in the DWFOM for 2016-2017, be currently registered in applied music and also intend to be registered students during 2017-2018.

Public Performance

The final round of the 2017 competition (open to public) was held on Saturday, January 7, 2017, 12:00 p.m. - von Kuster Hall (Music Building).

2016-2017 Competition

Congratulations to the winners of the 2016-2017 Maritsa Brookes Concerto Competition:

First place: Sean Tzu-Hsiang Kao, Piano
Second Place: Bing Xin Yang, Violin
Third Place: Daniel Dennis, Cello
Runner Up: Kirit Mascarenhas, Violin

The judges for the final round were:

Jill Ball, Winds, Brass, Percussion
Torin Chiles. Voice
Stephan Sylvestre, Piano
Annette-Barbara Vogel, strings
Jeff Stokes, replacing Sophie Roland, Chair, Music Performance Studies Department

Previous Winners

First place: Heidi Wall, Piano
Second Place: Christian Golding, Piano
Third Place: Jordan Clayton, Violin

First place: Danbee Ko, Piano
Second Place: Morgan Traynor, Voice
Third Place: Rachelle Li, Violin

First Place: Natalia Skomorokhova, Piano
Second Place: Matt Henry, Saxophone
Third Place: Lisa Mulgrew, Voice
Runner Up: Warren Elder, Marimba

First Place: Nicole Li, Violin
Second Place: Jayden Beaudoin, Marimba
Third Place: Vladimir Soloviev, Piano

First Place: Joel Tangjerd, Cello
Second Place: Margie Bernal, Soprano
Third Place: Bryn Blackwood, Piano

First Place: Tim Cheung
Second Place: Eric Mohr
Third Place: Catherine Folstad
Alternate: Grace Baker

First Place: Peter Gajdek, Trumpet
Second Place: Courtney Murias, Voice
Third Place: Edgar Suski, Piano

First Place: Neal Cabigon
Second Place: Mark Prince
Third Place: Victoria Grigg
Fourth Place: Adam Falconi